Dominant Colours

I recently took a colour work class and I learned so much that I just couldn’t figure out from youtube videos and blogs. The class was taught by Tin Can Knit’s Alexa and she was a wealth of knowledge.

One thing I kept reading about was choosing a “dominant colour”. When you knit two colours, one strand is carried on top and the other underneath. The colour that is carried underneath tends to “pop” a bit more in the final product. In the pictures below, the red arrows point to the dominant colour and the blue arrows point to the background colour.

You can really see the difference in the white. In the first section, the white is the dominant colour and in the second section, it is the background (just like Tin Can Knit’s original).

Not only did Alexa teach some valuable skills, but it was taught using her Clayoquot Hat, which was perfect since I plan on making the hat and cardigan later this year. Practice makers perfect!

Leave a comment