How to make even ribbing

Okay, I expect most people who sees this to think, “seriously, that is all”? It seems very obvious, but I had scoured the internet a long time trying to find a solution to a problem I was sure other people had.  My ribbing was consistently uneven. The last column of stitches before a purl was always loose and sloppy. The only answer I found was “tension”, but that wasn’t enough to help me correct my uneven ribbing. Long story short, the answer was indeed “tension”, but I needed to learn how to properly increase the tension of the first purl stitch after each knit portion of the rib. This might not make sense, so I recorded a short clip that demonstrates what I mean.

One other method that I find effective for producing an even ribbing (usually best with the knit section of the ribbing is only one stitch wide) is knitting through the back loop. The results are different, but they tend to stand proud and even. Check it out here:

Despite the fact this needs the be blocked again, these socks have even and proud ribbing due to each knit stitch being made through the back of the loop.
Despite the fact this needs the be blocked again, these socks have an even and proud ribbing due to each knit stitch being made through the back of the loop.
Leave a Reply

