Variegated yarn

DSC_5882

I’ve mentioned before that I love self striping yarn, but I’ve never used yarn that has a high contrast variegation. I generally don’t like the pooling and mismatch that tends to happen. I tend to find it very disappointing when the beautiful patches of colour in a skein scatter all over a finished project.

I bought some of Knitpick’s Hawthorne in the Happy Valley colourway and immediately regretted it, but when I was looking for something to bring with my to Japan, I bit the bullet and packed it.

Knitpick's Hawthorne in Happy Valley. The difference is jarring, isn't it? Images from the Knitpicks website.
Knitpick’s Hawthorne in Happy Valley. The difference is jarring, isn’t it? Images from the Knitpicks website.

And do you know what? It’s not so bad. It is exciting to knit, so it is great for “process knitters” and it turns out that pictures do not do it justice. I am definitely a “product” knitter, but the interesting process made me happier with the results. I won’t be making a sweater out of it any time soon, but I foresee many brightly coloured socks in my future.

DSC_5881 20151110_093310

The pattern is Granola by a local favorite, Tin Can Knits. I made a minor modification to carry the cable down the side of the foot, which worked out very well. I also added an Eye of Partridge heel to bring out the variegation.

Leave a Reply

