Resolutions

I’m not big fan of New Years resolutions. I see it as a big excuse for me to procrastinate until Decemeber 31st. That is why I started Cold Sheep in November. I have been thinking, though, that I need to improve my knitting in a few areas:

  1. Get over my fear of steeking. I have a plan. If I’m (mostly) good for Cold Sheep this year, I will buy myself some luxurious Sweet Fibre Wool and make myself a Clayoquot Cardigan. I’ve been eyeing it for a while, so I’m excited to attempt it with my favorite yarn. This will be perfect, since I hate doing colourwork while knitting flat.
  2. Speaking of colourwork, I really want to improve my colourwork skills. I am unhappy with the results of my most recent attempts. The tension is wrong. I know practice will help, but I am also signed up for a class with Alexa Ludeman, who designed the aforementioned Clayoquot sweater. We’ll be making a Clayoquot hat, which will be perfect practice. I am also determined to finish My Favourite Things this month, which will force some none-stop colourwork.
  3. Practice lever style knitting. I learned how to use this style of knitting from Stephanie Pearl-McPhee (aka the Yarn Harlot) in a class on speed knitting. I took to it quickly, but I haven’t used it since. I need to find some flat projects and go to town.(You can knit in the round, but need HUGE DPNs, which I don’t have)
  4. Learn how to weave in ends properly. I can do a Russian join and hold ends while knitting, but I haven’t found a good method for adding another colour or even weaving in an end at the star or end of the project. Despite being¬†simplest resolution, this is the only one I don’t have a plan for. Google, I guess?

Sneak Peak

A soon-to-be baby quilt for an expecting friend. I struggle working with a lot of cotton because of my hands, and so I decided to quilt a baby blanket for my vegan friends instead of knit. Besides, who could resist a Good Night Moon quilt? I’m super excited I was able to find perfectly matching fabric.

DSC_6678.JPG

Leave a Reply

